Our UnionMedia CentreMembersProducersAgreementsAdvocacyResources

ACTRA National 2019 Woman of the Year Nominations

Nominations for the 2019 ACTRA National Woman of the Year are now closed.

Each year since 2010, the ACTRA National Women’s Committee recognizes one ACTRA member as “Woman of the Year” ahead of International Women’s Day on March 8. Next year (2019) will mark the 10th recipient to receive this honour.

The ACTRA Woman of the Year Award shows recognition to a cis or transgender woman of notable acting presence who has made significant contributions to advance women within ACTRA and the recorded media industry, and has been influential in her advocacy and volunteer work within society.

Nomination Criteria

You are invited to nominate an ACTRA member who fits the following criteria:

  • Is a female identifying ACTRA Member;
  • Predominantly resides in Canada or actively advocates for Canadian work/performers;
  • Has a history of volunteer work and/or advocacy;
  • Has worked to forward gender equality/parity* and has made significant contributions within the recorded media industry;
  • Is working/has worked in the film/TV industry; and
  • Must not be earning any stipends/honorariums within ACTRA and cannot have a role in governance within any of the ACTRA branches.

*The theme for the 2019 International Women’s Day is #BalanceForBetter (to build a gender-balanced world).


The deadline for nominations is Sunday, December 16, 2018, at 11:59pm, Pacific Time. Late submissions will not be considered.

Selection Process

Nominations will be reviewed by a jury of ACTRA National Women’s Committee members. The jury will create a shortlist and the ACTRA National Women’s Committee will vote on who will receive the award. ACTRA will announce the recipient ahead of International Women’s Day 2019 (March 8).

Past award recipients

2018 – Dr. Rita Shelton Deverell (ACTRA Toronto)
2017 – Tina Keeper (ACTRA Manitoba)
2016 – Catherine Joell MacKinnon (ACTRA Toronto)
2015 – Amanda Tapping (UBCP/ACTRA)
2014 – Jean Freeman (ACTRA Saskatchewan)
2013 – Mary Walsh (ACTRA Newfoundland/Labrador)
2012 – Sandi Ross (ACTRA Toronto)
2011 – Tantoo Cardinal (ACTRA Toronto)
2010 – Shirley Douglas (ACTRA Toronto)

For more information the ACTRA National Women’s Committee initiatives as well as our past award recipients, click here.


If you have a question or would like further information about the nomination process or eligibility requirements, please contact Champi Sevathiar (

Privacy  |  Legal Text  |  Site Map  |  Mobile version